Friday, June 12, 2009

Cisco PIX configuration for logging to a Syslog server

logging on
logging standby
logging timestamp
logging trap notifications (or warnings - notifications will send a ton of info)
logging facility 18
logging host inside/outside ip address
logging device-id string name (tags messages by name so easy to see where they came from in syslog)

Logging severity levels:

emergencies (0)
alerts (1)
critical (2)
errors (3)
warnings (4)
notifications (5)
informational (6)
debugging (7)

The higher the level, the more messages (and types of messages) that are generated.

Refer to Messages Listed by Severity Level for a list of the log message generated at each severity level.

No comments:

Post a Comment